pvt thomas senior

pvt thomas senior

Postby tess davis » Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:49 pm

hi chris my name is tess i am new to the forum and hoping to find any information on thomas senior 7th battalion border regiment kia 25th august 1918 reg no 26526 born in salford lancashire i am hoping to find out were he was killed ie in what operation and if there is any photos of him i am new to this and any help would be fantastic regards teresa
tess davis
Private
Private

Re: pvt thomas senior

Postby kerchi » Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:03 pm

Hi Teresa,A very warm welcome to the forum.I had a quick look in the book I mentioned in a PM to you; the 7th Battalion at the time you mention were involved in the Second Battle of the Somme, an operation that started on the 21st August 1918. Here is account from the book taken from the 7th Battalion war diary:
25th August - Attacked Courcellete with Lincolns on right and Sherwoods in support. C Company on right, A on left, B Compnay in support and D in reserve. Attack passed through Courcellette and on towards Martinpuinch, held up on ridge W. or Martinpuich, no troops on left and Lancashire Fusiliers on right. Lincolns moved up on left and the attack went forward again to the ridge E. of matinpuich, which was held. A very heavy rainstorm made these operations more difficult and Company Commanders did great work in getting their companies into position. Lieutenant Lang did particularly well in reconnoitring positions for B and D Companies. During the fighting on the ridge E. of Martinpuich, where the enemy put up a stiff resistance and attempted a counter-attack, Second-Lieutenants Scott and Burn were wounded by machine gun fire.More to follow.
Chris
In memory of John Bardgett (15309 L/Cpl.), 11th Border Regiment who died 1st July 1916.

Any problems, comments or questions about the forum? Contact me at: admin@border-regiment-forum.com
kerchi
Field-Marshal
Field-Marshal

Postby kerchi » Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:23 pm